Campaigns and Issues

Poverty reduction consultations dates and small grants for communities


The government has announced all the dates for the provincial consultation on poverty reduction taking place across the province. Please see below for detailed information on the consultation dates in communities throughout BC.

In addition, government recognizes that certain groups experiencing poverty and those living in rural/remote communities may face barriers to participating through existing engagement opportunities.

Non-profit organizations in BC can apply for support of up to $2,500 to host their own small group discussions targeted towards:

  1. specific groups of people experiencing poverty in a variety of circumstances that face barriers to attending community meetings or providing input in other ways (e.g. youth, newcomers, on-reserve)

and / or

  1. those living in rural and remote communities that are not included in the over 20 community meetings that are being held across BC.

The funding can be used to cover costs of organizing the session, ensuring participants can attend, and submitting the results to BC’s poverty reduction strategy.

The deadline for applications is Tuesday, January 30 at 4:00 pm

To receive a copy of the small group grants application and for more information please contact viveca@firstcallbc.org.

Poverty Consultation Dates

Prince Rupert: Thursday, Jan. 11, 2018, 12:30-3:30 pm
Location: Nisga’a Hall, 860 3rd Ave. West

Terrace/Kitimat: Friday, Jan. 12, 2018, 12:30-3:30 pm
Location: Elks Lodge, 2822 Tetrault St.

Smithers: Saturday, Jan. 13, 2018, 12:30-3:30 pm
Location: Smithers Senior Citizens Association, Branch 21, 4018 Mountainview Ave.

Kamloops:  Thursday, Jan. 18 (see details here)
Kelowna: Friday, Jan. 19
Nanaimo: Monday, Jan. 22
Port Alberni: Tuesday, Jan. 23
Campbell River: Wednesday, Jan. 24
Richmond: Thursday, Jan. 25
New West/Burnaby: Monday, Jan. 29
Duncan: Tuesday, Jan. 30
For regularly updated information on the upcoming consultations past January throughout BC, please check here.